Fees and Expenses
Students enrolled at the University can be classified as resident, nonresident, or foreign. All students attending Texas Southern University who are nonresidents of this state will be charged additional tuition in accordance with state law. The burden of registering under proper resident status is the responsibility of the student. Nonresidents are persons who are residing in the State of Texas fewer than twelve (12) months immediately preceding their initial registration.
A request for a change of resident status for tuition purposes should be made as soon as the student has met the requirements for residency change, but no later than the 4th class day for a summer session or the 12th class day for a fall or spring semester. Changes made after the 4th/12th class day will apply only for future semesters. All required documents must accompany the Residency Application form, which is available in the Office of the Registrar on the second floor of Bell Hall.
The determination of resident classification for tuition purposes is governed by statutes enacted by the Texas Legislature and by rules and regulations promulgated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. These regulations may be reviewed in the Robert J. Terry University Library in the Reserved Area.
Required Residency Documentation
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board requires that Texas Southern University document each student’s residency. In order to apply for Texas residency status for tuition purposes, one must be either a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. The following documents indicating that the student has resided in the State of Texas for 12 continuous months prior to registration may be required:
Documentation To Support Domicile And Residency
The following documentation may be requested by the institution in order to resolve issues raised by responses to the Core Residency Questions. The listed documents may be used to establish that the person is domiciled in Texas and has maintained a residence in Texas continuously for 12 months prior to the census date.
Part A: Documentation That Can Support the Establishment of a Domicile and Demonstrate the Maintenance of a Residence in Texas for 12 Months.
- An employer’s statement of dates of employment (beginning and current or ending dates) that encompass at least 12 months.
- Other documents that show the person has been engaged in activities intended to provide an income to a person or allow a person to avoid the expense of paying another person to perform the tasks (as in child care or the maintenance of a home) may also be used, as well as documents that show the person is self-employed or employed as a homemaker, or is living off his/her earnings or through public assistance.
- Student employment such as work-study and the receipt of stipends, fellowships or research or teaching assistantships does not qualify as a basis for establishing a domicile.
- For a homeless person, written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision of services to the homeless person for the 12 months prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls.
Part B: Documentation Which (if accomplished and maintained for the 12 months prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls and if accompanied by at least ONE type of document listed in Part C) Can Support the Establishment of a Domicile and Demonstrate the Maintenance of a Residence in Texas for 12 Months
- Title to real property in Texas and reflect the ownership interest of the person or dependent’s parent.
- Marriage certificate with documentation to support that spouse is a domiciliary of Texas.
- Ownership of business in Texas with documents that evidence the organization or the business as a partnership or corporation.
- State or local licenses to conduct a business or practice a profession in this state.
Part C: Documents That May Be Used to Demonstrate Maintenance of a Residence for 12 Months
These documents do not show the establishment of a domicile. They only support a person’s claim to have resided in the state for at least 12 months. Activities in Part A and B of this Chart may be used to establish a domicile.
- Utility bills for the 12 months preceding the census date
- A Texas high school transcript for a full senior year of attendance preceding the census date
- A transcript from a Texas institution showing presence in the state for the 12 months preceding the census date
- A Texas driver’s license or Texas ID card with an expiration date of not more than four years
- Cancelled checks that reflect a Texas residence for the 12 months preceding the census date
- A current credit report that documents the length and place of residence of the person or the dependent’s parent
- Texas voter registration card that has not expired
- Pay stubs for the 12 months preceding the census date
- Bank statements reflecting a Texas address for the 12 months preceding the census date
- Ownership of real property with copies of utility bills for the 12 months preceding the census date
- Registration or verification from licensor, showing Texas address for licensee
- Written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies, attesting to the provision of services for at least the 12 months preceding the census date
- Lease or rental of real property, other than campus housing, in the name of the person or the dependent’s parent for the 12 months preceding the census date
Photocopies of the above items are required with the completed application. Students who do not provide required documentation will be charged nonresident tuition.
If there is a question of a student’s legal resident status under state law and University rules, it is the duty of the student to obtain an opinion from the Student Resident Status Advisor prior to registration. Any attempt on the part of the nonresident to evade the nonresident fee will be taken seriously and may lead to expulsion. Nonresident students are given official notice of their nonresident classification at the time of admission. A student who is classified as a nonresident but who pays the resident fee at any subsequent registration after he or she has been officially advised in writing of nonresident status will receive a penalty of loss of credit.
Tuition and Fees
The University reserves the right to adjust fees without prior notice. A list of tuition and regular fees to be paid by all students enrolled for any semester hours is available through the Office of Student Accounting. In addition to these fees, one should add estimates of special laboratory fees and the cost of books and supplies to arrive at an approximate total amount needed at the time of registration.
All payments to the University should be made by cash, credit card, cashier’s check, money order, or personal check and made payable to Texas Southern University. Personal checks will not be accepted for any amount in excess of the total amount due. Postdated checks will not be accepted. There will be a $25.00 charge for each check returned for any reason. Temporary checks are unacceptable.
Statutory tuition is assessed to all registered students and the charge is authorized under Texas Education Code (TEC) §54.051 in an amount determined by the Texas Legislature for resident or nonresident students. Information on specific rates may be secured from the Office of Student Accounting.
The Building Use Fee, of a prorated amount per semester hour, is charged to all students. This fee is used to construct, equip, repair, and renovate buildings and facilities.
Student Service Fee
The Student Service Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used to support certain extracurricular activities, such as student publications, special cultural programs, the marching band, and the athletic programs. This fee also provides for general health counseling, minor medication, and treatment in the Student Health Center. It does not include special medicines, dental care, treatment by specialists, or hospitalization. The amount of the fee depends on the number of credit hours for which the student is enrolled, and it is charged to all students enrolled at the University during a regular semester.
Students enrolled for 12 or more credit hours in each of both semesters of a school year are entitled to receive one copy of the University annual. Students enrolled full-time for only one semester may also receive the annual by paying an additional fee.
Student Center Fee
The Student Center Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used for operating, maintaining, improving, and equipping the Student Center and acquiring or constructing additions to the Student Center.
Library Service Fee
The Library Service Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used for operating, maintaining, improving, and equipping the TSU Library Learning Center and for providing library services to students.
International Education Fee
The International Education Fee is assessed to all registered students and issued to assist students participating in international student exchange or study programs in accordance with guidelines jointly developed by the student governing body and University administration.
Recreational Facility Fee
The Recreational Facility Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used for constructing, operating, maintaining and equipping the recreational facilities and programs.
Intercollegiate Athletics Fee
The Intercollegiate Athletics Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used to develop and maintain an intercollegiate athletics program at the University.
Medical Service Fee
The Medical Service Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used for operating, maintaining, improving, and equipping the medical service facility; acquiring and constructing additions to the medical service facility and providing medical services to students.
Computer Service Fee
The Computer Service Fee is assessed to all registered students and is used to help support the provision of computer services to students.
The School Fee is assessed by each college or school to all registered students enrolled in its component major programs in order to support administrative costs.
Late Registration Fee
Texas Southern University reserves the right to conduct registration according to students’ last name, major area, or any other delimiting factor. Students are required to register at the time indicated by the class schedule. Failure to complete registration on the date specified, but before the absolute deadline, will result in a late fee assessment.
A student making a course change or changes after payment of initial tuition and fees may be charged for each change.
Installment Handling Fees
Tuition and fees during the fall and spring semesters may be paid by one of two options:
- Full payment of tuition and fees by the twentieth day of class or
- One-half payment of tuition and fees by the twentieth day of class, one-fourth by the start of the sixth week, and one-fourth by the start of the eleventh week.
Students electing to pay their tuition and fees on the installment plan will be assessed a handling fee for the payment plan. Students are also assessed a fee for each delinquent payment. These fees are nonrefundable.
A student who fails to make full payment or a first installment payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be barred from classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make full payment prior to the end of the semester may not receive credit for the work done that semester.
Late Payment Fee
A student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, or does not have a financial aid deferment by the posted deadline will be assessed a late payment fee.
Fees are assessed for studio and laboratory courses in the following academic disciplines: art, biology, chemistry, education, geology, human services and consumer sciences, music, pharmacy, human performance, physics, and technology.
SEVIS International Fee
International students are required to pay an administration fee for University compliance with the federal student exchange system.
First-time students are required to pay a fee for the orientation program and related activities.
Health Insurance FEE
All international students will be assessed a fee for health insurance coverage. Students must provide verification of satisfactory health insurance coverage for the enrollment term to have the fee waived.
Room and Board
Residence hall occupants will be required to sign a Housing-Food Service Contract for the entire academic year before being admitted to the facilities. The Housing-Food Services Contract is personal and may not be transferred or assigned to another person. Any violator will be subject to immediate disciplinary action. Room and Board charges are assessed on an annual basis.
Students who need to park vehicles in designated student lots on the campus must pay for parking decals to attach to their vehicles. These decals will indicate the parking lot. This fee is assessed on a semester or term basis. Refunds for parking fees must be applied for separately through the Department of Public Safety.
Other fees, not specified in this section, may be charged by colleges, schools, departments, or other offices at the University. Students will be apprised of these fees and their designated purposes at the time that they are incurred.
Regulations Governing Refunds
Any student who drops a course(s) within the first twelve (12) days of a fall or spring semester or within the first four (4) days of a summer term and remains enrolled in the University will receive refunds applicable to tuition paid for those courses.
Refunds for courses enrolled in during a fall or spring semester by a student who officially withdraws from the University are calculated according to the following percentage schedule:
|Prior to the first day||100%|
|During the first week of class||80%|
|During the second week of class||70%|
|During the third week of class||50%|
|During the fourth week of class||25%|
|After the fourth week of class||0%|
Refunds for courses enrolled in during a summer term by a student who officially withdraws from the University are calculated according to the following percentage schedule:
|Prior to the first day||100%|
|During the first, second, or third class day||80%|
|During the fourth, fifth, or sixth class day||50%|
|Seventh day of class and thereafter||0%|
The refundable charges assessed at registration are tuition and applicable fees. Refunds of tuition and fees are calculated based upon the total amount of these fees assessed at registration and not on the basis of the amount of the total that has been paid if a student is paying on an installment basis.
Students who pay fees through financial aid/assistance (including Federal loans/grants) will receive refunds only if the Office of Student Financial Assistance determines that refunds are due.
Students who register for courses that are either paid for directly or paid through the use of financial aid/assistance are considered enrolled at the University until they officially withdraw through the Office of the University Registrar. Ceasing to attend classes or stopping payment of checks for fees owed without officially withdrawing from the University will result in semester grades of “F”. Thus, any remaining balance owed to the University by a student who ceases to attend classes, but who does not officially withdraw through the Office of the University Registrar, is still due and not subject to reduction.
Refund of Room and Board Fees
Dormitory residents are required to sign a Housing Food Service Contract for the entire academic year. The University’s policy concerning refunds associated with room and board fees is stated in the contract. Where refunds are applicable, application for such refunds must be made within one year after official withdrawal.
Refund of Graduation Fees
Graduation fees cannot be transferred to another graduation period. Applications for refunds of the May diploma fee must be made in writing at the Bursar’s Office prior to March 1. No other refunds shall be granted. Summer graduates have no refund grace period in as much as orders are placed immediately upon receipt of their applications for graduation.
Persons who are indebted to the University in any amount may not be permitted to graduate, receive transcripts, re-enroll at the University, or receive any refunds.
Tuition Rebate Program for Undergraduates
In accord with Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code, as authorized by Texas Senate Bill 1907, Texas Southern University provides tuition rebates of $1000.00 each to undergraduates who complete baccalaureate degrees with no more than three semester credit hours attempted in excess of the minimum required for the major specified in the university bulletin under which they graduated. Specifically, a student qualifying for this rebate must meet the following conditions as set forth in the Texas Education Code:
- The student took his or her first college course in Fall 1997 or later,
- The student was a Texas resident at all times while pursuing his or her degree,
- The student was entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing his or her degree,
- The student not yet graduated, and
- The student has not attempted more than three semester credit hours in excess of the minimum number of hours required for his or her degree. Hours attempted include for-credit developmental courses, repeated courses, courses dropped after the official census date, transfer credits, course credit by examination, and internship and cooperative education courses. Course dropped for reasons that the University determines to be totally beyond the student’s control shall not count toward these attempted hours. Students meeting the criteria referenced above who wish to takes advantage of this program must complete a rebate application form and submit it to the Registrar’s Office prior to graduation from Texas Southern University.