Academic Catalog 2022-2023

Policies and Accreditation

Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policies

Texas Southern University is in compliance with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, or national origin. It is also in compliance with the provisions of Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 which prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex. Further, the University is in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990 and Amendments Act (ADAAA) and with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended.

It is the policy of the University that sexual harassment as defined in the EEOC Guidelines will not be tolerated among members of the Texas Southern University community.  Any complaint of sexual harassment should be reported immediately to the Title IX Coordinator.

Notice of Licensed and Concealed Weapons on Campus Policy

On June 1, 2015, Gov. Greg Abbott signed S.B. 11, also known as the "campus carry" law. S.B. 11 provides that license holders may carry a concealed handgun throughout university campuses, starting Aug. 1, 2016.

Please visit the following web-link to access Texas Southern University’s campus carry policy:

Additional information can be found at the TSU Department of Public Safety’s web-site:

The TSU Department of Public Safety has created a video to inform and educate the campus community regarding the "Campus Carry" Law. Please watch the entire video to stay informed regarding this law. The video can be accessed at the following YouTube web-link:

University Commitment, student Responsibilities, and Freedom of expression

University Commitment 

On June 17, 1973, the Texas Legislature designated Texas Southern University a “special purpose institution of higher education for urban programming.” Subsequent to this mandate, the designation and the University motto of “Excellence in Achievement” were welded in order to formulate the institutional mission. Accordingly, the University is committed to the management of a comprehensive educational curriculum that will render the motto creditable.

Student Responsibilities

Texas Southern University provides a student-centered learning environment in which students are afforded opportunities to practice self-discipline, to assume responsibilities as maturing adults, and to enjoy certain freedoms. When students elect to enroll at the University, they also accept and agree to abide by the rules, regulations, and policies by which the University is governed. Inasmuch as enrollment is voluntary, acceptance is voluntary. On this basis, students cannot, without great personal liability to their continued association with the University, obstruct, hamper, disrupt, or otherwise interfere with the institution’s attainment of its lawful mission, please refer to the Student Code of Conduct ( for additional information. The institution, therefore, has both the right and the obligation to promulgate rules and regulations designed to promote attainment of its purpose.


Texas Southern University (“TSU”) recognizes that freedom of expression and public assembly are fundamental rights of all persons and are essential components of the education process. These activities promote debate and the sharing of ideas, which are the foundation of educational institutions. In keeping with this responsibility, any person is free to exercise the rights to assemble and engage in expressive activity in a constitutionally protected manner subject only to the content-neutral regulations necessary to fulfill the mission and obligations of TSU, preserve the rights of others, coordinate multiple uses of limited space, assure preservation of the campus facilities and grounds, and assure financial accountability for any damage caused by these activities. Please refer to Student Life policies for additional information.

Accredited Programs

Texas Southern University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions concerning the accreditation of Texas Southern University.

In the College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) Degree in Social Work is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, and the concentration in Dietetics is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics.

The College of Education holds NCATE accreditation through the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation programs. It is also accredited by the Texas Education Agency and the Texas Workforce Commission. It also holds membership in the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation Programs and the Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

The Jesse H. Jones School of Business is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International).

The Doctor of Pharmacy Program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. The College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

In the Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs, the Master of Public Administration program is accredited by the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA) and holds membership in NASPAA; The Masters of Urban Planning and Environmental Policy program is accredited by the Planning Accreditation Board (PAB) and holds membership in the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP).

In the College of Science, Engineering and Technology the following programs hold special certification and/or accreditation: the chemistry program is certified by the American Chemical Society; the electronics engineering technology program is accredited by the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ETAC of ABET); and, the Industrial Technologies and Aviation Science programs are accredited by the Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE).

The Thurgood Marshall School of Law is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of The Association of American Law Schools, and the American Association of Law Libraries.


Texas Southern University is required under federal law to disclose information about its programs that may lead to a professional license or certification that is required for employment in an occupation. Specifically, Texas Southern University is required to disclose whether these programs will fulfill the educational requirements for licensure or certification in each state where its students are located.  Texas Southern University is researching the educational requirements for licensure or certification outside of Texas. 

At this time, Texas Southern University has not made a final determination regarding whether completion of each of its undergraduate and graduate programs that may lead to a professional license or certification would be sufficient to meet the licensure requirements in other states for that occupation.  Each licensing authority sets and enforces its own professional licensing standards, and these standards are subject to change. Every student should inquire directly to the licensing authority in the jurisdiction where the student plans to seek licensure in order to determine if there are mandatory requirements to be licensed or certified to practice and to confirm that you will meet the requirements for licensure before enrolling in your program of choice.  

If you have any questions or if you would like assistance in determining if your selected program is authorized in a particular state, please contact your college or school advisor.